Internal Advisory Board

The MIT.nano Internal Advisory Board (IAB) comprises MIT department heads, deans, center directors, and administrators. This group provides the MIT.nano team with strategic guidance on advancing MIT.nano, to grow our state-of-the-art research facility and develop a close-knit and engaged community.

Marc BaldoMarc Baldo
Director, Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE)
Professor of Electrical Engineering (bio)
Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (EECS)



Anantha ChandrakasanAnantha Chandrakasan
Dean, MIT School of Engineering (web)
Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (bio)
Head, Energy-Efficient Circuits and Systems Group (web)



John DeutchJohn Deutch
Institute Professor Emeritus (bio)
Former Chairman of the Department of Chemistry
Former Dean of Science and Provost (web)



Edelman headshotElazer Edelman
Director, Institute for Medical Engineering and Science (IMES)
Edward J. Poitras Professor in Medical Engineering and Science (bio)
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School (HMS)
Senior Attending Physician, Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH)



Jeff GrossmanJeffrey Grossman
Head, Department of Materials Science & Engineering (DMSE)
Morton and Claire Goulder and Family Professor in Environmental Systems (bio)
Professor of Materials Science & Engineering (web)
MacVicar Fellow



Paula HammondPaula T. Hammond
Department Head, Chemical Engineering (ChemE)
David H. Koch (1962) Professor in Engineering (bio)
Head, The Hammond Lab: Engineering Multifunctional Polymeric Materials (web)



Susan HockfieldSusan Hockfield
MIT President Emerita (web)
Professor of Neuroscience (BCS)




Craig KeastCraig Keast
Associate Head of the Advanced Technology Division, Lincoln Laboratory (LL)
Director of Operations for the Microelectronics Laboratory (bio)




Nergis MavalvalaNergis Mavalvala
Dean, MIT School of Science
Curtis (1963) and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics (Physics)
Principal Investigator, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research (bio)



Chris SchuhChristopher Schuh
Danae and Vasilis Salapatas Professor of Metallurgy (bio)
Department of Materials Science & Engineering (DMSE)
MacVicar Fellow



Van VlietKrystyn Van Vliet
Michael (1949) and Sonja Koerner Professor of Materials Science & Engineering (bio)
Associate Provost
Head, Van Vliet Laboratory for Material Chemomechanics (web)
Department of Materials Science & Engineering (DMSE)


EvelynEvelyn Wang
Department Head, Mechanical Engineering (MechE)
Gail E. Kendall Professor of Mechanical Engineering (bio)
Head, Device Research Laboratory (DRL)